

### LWSSL OLPE Ladies Blitz 3rd June 2017

The inaugural LWSSL O'Loughlin Project Engineering Ltd. 9 a side blitz tournament for senior women took place last Saturday 3<sup>rd</sup> June at the Coonagh Sports and Social Club grounds. We welcomed FC Irlande from Brussels as a participant alongside LWSSL clubs Bridge Celtic, Murroe AFC Selection and Regional Utd. Despite the inclement weather, a most enjoyable day was had by all with football being the winner.

Round 1 fixtures were saw Murroe AFC playing FC Irlande and Bridge Celtic play Regional Utd. Both games were very competitive, FC Irlande edging out Murroe AFC with a last minute goal to win 4-3 whilst Bridge Celtic defeated Regional Utd 5-2 after a very entertaining game.

FC Irlande clicked into gear in the Round 2 fixture v Bridge Celtic playing some wonderful football and ran out 5-0 winners with the Clare ladies fighting to the end. Murroe put Regional Utd. to the sword running out 6-1 winners over a young Regional Utd. squad .

The final round of fixtures saw Bridge Celtic prevail over a Murroe Selection on a 4-2 scoreline while FC Irlande continued their rich vein of form putting six past a visibly tiring Regional Utd. squad to clinch the tournament title.

Trophies were presented at a ceremony in the Coonagh S&S clubhouse after the final tournament game where the tournament winners title and winners medals were presented to FC Irlande captain Guja Lucheschi by LWSSL chairperson Trevor Lyttle. Trevor thanked the FC Irlande squad, coaches Audrey Villance and Karim Durden and club president Dave Verdon for making the trip to Limerick. The FC Irlande president Dave Verdon also spoke, thanking all the participating teams and commended the LWSSL committee for the smooth and successful organising of the tournament and the hospitality provided for all the squads. Participant commerative plaques were also presented by LWSSL treasurer Declan McDermott to the captains of Murroe AFC Selection (Anna Madigan), Regional Utd. (Megan Foley) and Bridge Celtic (Maxine Slattery).

The LWSSL committee would like to thank the following for their contribution to making the tournament such a success, our sponsor O'Loughin Project Engineering (OLPE), Kieran Judge of Limerick FC, Tracey Lyttle, Irene Hehir, Sheila and Don McCarthy, Catriona McDermott, John McNamara and Eugene Nunan (referees ), Dave Verdon (FC Irlande ), Petra Soderqvist (FC Irlande) and Coonagh S&S Club for providing their facilities to the LWSSL.

Squads



### FC Irlande

Guja Lucheschi, Virginie Verdin, Aurelie stock , Annemarie Vanvilsteren, Niamh Kennedy, Karim Attanjaoui, Audrey Villance, Melodie Canella, Sofie Leclerc, Caroline Selami, Raquel Becerro Diaz. **Coaches** 

Audrey Villance and Karim Durden.





# Murroe AFC Selection Squad:

Laura O'Neill, Anna Madigan, Marcella Ryan, Shana Ryan, Laura Smith, Irene Hehir, Aisling Hughes. Coaches:

Noel Regan, Trevor Lyttle.



### Bridge Celtic Squad:

Maxine Slattery, Sam Dillon, Bridget O'Dwyer, Aine Kelleher, Linda Lynch, Triona Moloney, Denise Hannon, Gillian Ryan, Sharon Slattery, Michelle Brown, Laura Hanley, Stephanie Fitzgibbon, Ellis Kerins

## **Coaches:**

Ken Naughton, David Roche



**Regional Utd** Leah O Carroll, Janet O Carroll, Selina Hyde, Julie Darcy, Megan Foley, Kasey Hayes, Edel Hayes, Laura Scanlan, Leanne Hayes, Oliwia Przekwas, Tara Hogan. **Coaches:** 

Ross Hyde, Declan McDermott